“Lethal” @LucienReidy Exclusive Interview by Paul Ready

Standard

The latest starlet to join Matchroom’s stable is 21 yr old Super-Bantamweight Lucien Reid.

Reid, makes his pro-debut on May 30th at the O2 Arena in London.

The prospect’s amateur career is impressive – he claimed a Senior ABA Elite 54kg title in 2013 and was a finalist at 56kgs the following year.

 

 

Elite Boxing:

Lucien – it’s great to meet you. Tell me, what got you in to boxing as a boy?

 

Lucien Reid:

What got me in to boxing was that me and my brother were having a fight outside my dad’s house. My brother was fighting another guy and to tell you the truth I was a bit scared!

My brother wasn’t throwing the right punches, dad came out and told us both that we need to learn how to defend ourselves – so he took us down to Repton Boxing Club.

Ten years down the line, I’ve signed a professional contract with Matchroom Boxing so it’s gone really well!

 

EB:

So are you saying that prior to that fight happening with your brother, boxing wasn’t really a hobby or sport that interested you?

 

LR:

I was 11 at the time, we initially got in to it for fitness purposes and to defend ourselves. It was never my intention to turn professional. Since then I wanted to be a boxer, I always loved the blood and the sweat, no tears at the age as I was only young. But I’ve done really well so far.

 

EB:

What was the first fight that you remember watching that made you fall in love with the sport?

 

LR:

It was shortly after I had my first competitive fight, I was round a friends house and we watched a Floyd Mayweather fight.

I loved his skill, loved his defence, I loved his movement and that’s what I base my style on. (Peter Sims believes he is similar to Kal Yafai).

My style is based on a lot of movement and a lot of speed & fast reactions.

 

EB:

The Super-Bantamweight division you are entering is really exciting not only domestically but also internationally.

How do you view the division at the moment?

 

LR:

I’m glad I’m in such a great division as all being well there could be some big fights to be made a couple of years down the line.

But I’m looking forward to getting out there, exciting people and letting the big guys in the division know my name.

I want them to know that I will be coming in the next few years to challenge for some titles!

 

EB:

I think everyone shares the sentiment that Guillermo Rigondeaux is the main man in the division. 

Just underneath that you have Carl Frampton and Scott Quigg in the UK. That fight is hopefully going to happen in the summer – how do you see that bout panning out?

 

LR:

Rigondeaux is unbelievable and definitely the best in the division. 

The fight with Frampton and Quigg if it happens is going to be amazing, I really can’t pick between them. It’s a great blend of styles and its a definite 50-50 contest.

The winner of Quigg and Frampton I’d like see face Rigondeaux.

 

EB:

To go back to yourself Lucien, talk me through your amateur career in more detail.

 

LR:

My amateur career started around ten years ago. I boxed for Repton for five years and for West Ham for five years. 

For Repton I got to the NABC Finals and lost by 1 point which was disappointing obviously. In the same year I got to the ABA Juniors Final and I lost by 1 point as well.

I went into the Seniors, I’ve done three Senior Championship’s, first I lost to Reece Bellotti in the Quarter Finals on a close decision.

Second year – 54kgs I went in and beat everybody comfortably winning the ABA’s. In my third year I got to the final at the Liverpool Echo Arena and lost to Qais Ashfaq. Qais is Team GB’s number 1 at that weight, he got a Silver in the Commonwealth games.

 

EB:

You are on the verge of making the transition from amateur to pro under Peter’s guidance.

Outside of this gym, who have you sparred so far?

 

LR:

I haven’t sparred many pro’s prior to coming here. I had sparred Charlie Hoy which was great for me – he has great head movement that helped me develop.

I’ve had loads of trials in Sheffield at Team GB, I had around ten trials over two years. I’ve sparred the top guys in the country there – Charlie Edwards, Jack Bateson, Peter McGrail, Jack Daniels, I’ve sparred loads up there.

 

EB:

You’ve been with Peter now for a month I believe. He’s a massive character isn’t he?

 

LR:

Haha! Yeah he is, but he’s a nice man. I know he wants the best for me.

I can’t wait to make debut on such a big show at the end of May.

I keen to progress quickly and I feel that I have the best team around me now. The sparring I can get at this gym, Tony Sims’ gym and possibly going up to spar Scott Quigg in the future would be fantastic for my development.

 

EB:

Lucien, it’s it’s been great talking to you. I best let you go and do the rest of your training before Peter comes looking for me!

Is there any final things you wish to add?

 

LR:

Thanks Paul – enjoyed it.

I’d like to thank my mum & dad for putting up with my diet and my moodiness!

A special thanks to my sponsors D&G Glazing, Muscle Food and L&O Meats.

 

@PaulReady

@EliteBoxingNet

http://www.eliteboxing.net

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Lethal” @LucienReidy Exclusive Interview by Paul Ready

  1. Rugantino

    Hi, I’d like to visit Elite Boxing Gym. It would be amazing to me because it’s home of my favourites boxers. Can you tell me the address, please? Thanks in advance. Kind regards. Rugantino

Leave a Reply

